Daylight Savings 2023: When will daylight saving time end this year and the clocks ‘go back’?

Fall is over with only two weeks to go Daylight Saving Time for 2023 No more than eight weeks will come.

Daylight saving time ends at 2 a.m. on Sunday, November 5, 2023, when the clock strikes “step back“An hour and theoretically we get an extra hour of sleep.

Through the rest of summer and fall, the days will continue to get shorter. New Jersey will see sunset before 7pm on September 20 for the first time since March 11, the day before Daylight Saving Time begins.

The sun will set in Newark on November 4 at 5:52 PM. Next day — later Daylight saving time is over — Sunset more than an hour earlier at 4:50 p.m Dakshinayan Then comes the summer solstice on June 20, 2024, when day length begins to increase.

The upside is that the sun will rise about an hour earlier each morning. On November 5, sunrise is 7:32 a.m. The next day the sun rises at 6:33 a.m. As millions of people commute home from work in mostly or total darkness in November, there will be more daylight on their morning commute.

The clock officially “goes back” on the first Sunday in November from 2 am to 1 am

When did daylight saving time start and when will it end in 2023?

Daylight Saving Time began on Sunday, March 12, 2023 and will end on Sunday, November 5, 2023 — lasting 238 days. It has lasted from the second Sunday of March to the first Sunday of November since 2007.

When does daylight saving time start and end in 2024?

We next turn the clocks on March 10, 2024 – 126 days after we turned them back. Daylight Saving Time will end in 2024 on November 3, 2024

What is the history of daylight saving time?

The concept originated more than a century ago when the English architect Dr William Willett In 1907 proposed the idea of ​​changing clocks A waste of daylight. Advice on using daylight more efficiently can be traced back to Benjamin Franklin.

While visiting Paris in 1784, he wrote a letter to the editors of the Paris Journal. Calling for a tax on every Parisian whose windows were closed after sunrise According to author Michael Downing, “to stimulate the economy to use sunlight instead of candles” Spring Forward: The Annual Madness of Daylight Saving Time.

Daylight Saving Time has been observed every year since 1966, when the Uniform Time Act was passed. It was used temporarily in the United States during World War I and World War II.

Which states do not observe daylight saving time?

Most of Hawaii and Arizona do not observe daylight saving time. Time changes are also not observed in the US territories of Puerto Rico, Guam, American Samoa and the US Virgin Islands.

Seventeen states have enacted legislation Make daylight saving time permanent. California voters voted to approve year-round daylight saving time. But these changes require federal approval.

In March 2022, the US Senate passed Sunshine Protection Act, which will end up changing the clocks twice a year. US House of Representatives Did not vote on itAlthough

A handful of Canadian provinces — most of Saskatchewan and the Yukon — have adopted daylight saving, as have parts of British Columbia and two communities in northwestern Ontario.

About 70 countries Observe daylight saving time. North America, parts of Europe and South America and New Zealand adhere to it, while China, Japan, India and most other countries do not.

It starts on different dates elsewhere. As in Europe, Daylight saving time Begins on the last Sunday of March and ends on the last Sunday of October,

Our journalism needs your support. Subscribe today

Jeff Goldman can be reached at

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top